Southampton vs Fulham Preview – Premier League

Jacinthe Kihn is one of Fluentsport's England League One experts covering most of the upcoming fixtures in the year.

Southampton face Fulham in this Premier League clash.

When is the match, and kick off time?

The match is on Wednesday 27th February 2019, and kicks off at 7:45pm UK time. The venue for the match is St. Mary's Stadium (Southampton, Hampshire).


With such huge stars in the side, Southampton should be able to finish chances if they can create them; however Fulham have a great record of containing quality players. If Fulham continue their solid defensive performance, they should be able to stop a lot of chances as they develop for their opponents. Southampton may try to create their chances at close range, as Fulham have shown great skill at stopping chances long range chances. Fulham will need to be creative when attacking, as Southampton have shown great instinct at defending counter attacks. Southampton will hope that Fulham attack wide so they can prevent danger with their superior defence on the wings.

Current form

Southampton are in average form having had mixed results from their previous 5 fixtures, and will be looking to improve this time around. Meanwhile, Fulham are in good form having won most of their last 5 games. In their last game, they lost by 4 goals against Newcastle United.


Southampton Fulham
Forwards Sam Gallagher, Marcus Barnes, Danny Ings, Shane Long, Charlie Austin, Michael Obafemi, Mohamed Elyounoussi. Aleksandar Mitrović, Floyd Ayité, André Schürrle, Luciano Vietto, Harvey Elliot.
Midfielders James Ward-Prowse, Oriol Romeu, Nathan Redmond, Pierre Emile Højbjerg, Josh Sims, Mario Lemina, Stuart Armstrong, Kayne Ramsey, Callum Slattery. Scott Parker, Tom Cairney, Kevin McDonald, Luca de la Torre, Neeskens Kebano, Ibrahima Cissé, Steven Sessegnon, Matt O'Riley, Joe Bryan, André Zambo Anguissa, Jean Michaël Seri.
Defenders Matt Targett, Jannik Vestergaard, Maya Yoshida, Ryan Bertrand, Jack Stephens, Jan Bednarek, Alfie Jones, Yann Valery, Tyreke Johnson. Håvard Nordtveit, Alfie Mawson, Tim Ream, Denis Odoi, Ryan Sessegnon, Marcelo Djaló, Cyrus Christie, Calum Chambers, Timothy Fosu-Mensah, Maxime Le Marchand.
Goalkeepers Angus Gunn, Fraser Forster, Alex McCarthy, Harry Lewis. Sergio Rico, Marcus Bettinelli, Fabricio.
Staff Ralph Hasenhüttl, Kelvin Davis. Scott Parker.