Cardiff City vs Watford Preview – Premier League

Jacinthe Kihn is one of Fluentsport's England League One experts covering most of the upcoming fixtures in the year.

Cardiff City face Watford in this Premier League clash.

When is the match, and kick off time?

The match is on Friday 22nd February 2019, and kicks off at 7:45pm UK time. The venue for the match is Cardiff City Stadium (Cardiff (Caerdydd)).


It would be wise for Watford to play intricately and avoid taking too many shooting chances at range, as Cardiff City have an excellent record of defending those chances. Watford won't be able to rely on their individual players in this game, as Cardiff City have been good at managing these threats in previous games. Set pieces should be interesting in this game, as Cardiff City's strong attacking may be countered by Watford's strong defence. Cardiff City will need to be creative with their attacking chances, as Watford are good at defending attacking through balls. Watford will need to be creative when attacking, as Cardiff City have shown great instinct at defending counter attacks.

Current form

Cardiff City are in average form having had mixed results from their previous 5 fixtures, and will be looking to improve this time around. In their last game, they won by 2 goals against Manchester United. Meanwhile, Watford are in poor form having lost most of their last 5 games, and will be hoping to turn around their recent form in this fixture. In their last game, they lost by 6 goals against Manchester City.


Cardiff City Watford
Forwards Josh Murphy, Kenneth Zohorè, Junior Hoilett, Rhys Healey. Troy Deeney, Andre Gray, Gerard Deulofeu, Isaac Success.
Midfielders Baye Oumar Niasse, Aron Einar Gunnarsson, Leandro Bacuna, Bobby Reid, Joe Ralls, Kadeem Harris, Jazz Richards, Nathaniel Mendez-Laing, Daniel Ward, Loïc Damour, Cameron Coxe, Stuart O'Keefe, Harry Arter, Víctor Camarasa, Lloyd Humphries. Ken Sema, Etienne Capoue, Abdoulaye Doucouré, Roberto Pereyra, Tom Cleverley, Will Hughes, Femenía Far, Nathaniel Chalobah, Quina, Adalberto Peñaranda.
Defenders Sean Morrison, Bruno Ecuélé Manga, Lee Peltier, Matthew Connolly, Joe Bennett, Soul Bamba, Callum Paterson, Greg Cunningham. Adam Masina, Craig Cathcart, Sebastian Prödl, José Holebas, Miguel Britos, Christian Kabasele, Younes Kaboul, Daryl Janmaat, Adrian Mariappa, Tommie Hoban, Marc Navarro.
Goalkeepers Alex Smithies, Brian Murphy, Neil Etheridge. Ben Foster, Heurelho Gomes, Pontus Dahlberg.
Staff Neil Warnock. Javi Gracia.