Brentford vs Reading Preview – Championship

William Torphy is one of Fluentsport's England Championship experts covering most of the upcoming fixtures in the year.

Brentford face Reading in this Championship clash.

When is the match, and kick off time?

The match is on Saturday 29th September 2018, and kicks off at 3:00pm UK time. The venue for the match is Griffin Park (Brentford, Middlesex).


Reading will need to stay alert for attacking through balls, which are part of the Brentford attack. Luckily, they have shown that they can cope with those attacks competently. If Reading continue their solid defensive performance, they should be able to stop a lot of chances as they develop for their opponents. Brentford may try to create their chances at close range, as Reading have shown great skill at stopping chances long range chances. Reading will need to be creative when attacking, as Brentford have shown great instinct at defending counter attacks. Brentford should be able to continue their recent form, which has seen them give away very few chances in errors.

Current form

Brentford are in good form having won most of their last 5 games. In their last game, they won by 1 goal against Bolton Wanderers. Meanwhile, Reading are in average form having had mixed results from their previous 5 fixtures, and will be looking to improve this time around. In their last game, they lost by 1 goal against Middlesbrough.


Brentford Reading
Forwards Saïd Benrahma, Sergi Canos, Neal Maupay, Ollie Watkins, Theodore Archibald, Josh Dasilva, Marcus Forss. Jón Daði Böðvarsson, Nélson Oliveira, Callum Harriott, Modou Barrow, Daniel Loader, Josh Barrett, Sam Baldock.
Midfielders Henrik Dalsgaard, Lewis MacLeod, Josh McEachran, Romaine Sawyers, Kamohelo Mokotjo, Mads Bech Sørensen, Emiliano Hansen, Chiedozie Ogbene, Ezri Konsa, Moses Odubajo, Jaakko Oksanen, Jan Žambůrek. Yakou Meïté, Saeid Ezatolahi, Ovie Ejaria, Lewis Baker, Garath McCleary, Jordan Obita, Liam Kelly, John Swift, Andy Rinomhota, Ryan East, Andy Yiadom, Michael Olise.
Defenders Julian Jeanvier, Yoann Barbet, Rico Henry, Tom Field, Luka Racic. John O'Shea, Chris Gunter, Paul McShane, Tyler Blackett, Liam Moore, Tiago Ilori, Omar Richards, Thomas Holmes, Matt Miazga, Tom McIntyre, Teddy Howe.
Goalkeepers Daniel Bentley, Ellery Balcombe, Luke Daniels, Jack Bonham, Patrik Gunnarsson. Emiliano Martínez, Anssi Jaakkola, Sam Walker.
Staff Thomas Frank. José Manuel Gomes, Scott Marshall.