Rotherham United vs Derby County Preview – Championship

Aimee Homenick is one of Fluentsport's England Championship experts covering most of the upcoming fixtures in the year.

Rotherham United face Derby County in this Championship clash.

When is the match, and kick off time?

The match is on Saturday 15th September 2018, and kicks off at 3:00pm UK time. The venue for the match is AESSEAL New York Stadium (Rotherham, South Yorkshire).


Derby County won't be able to rely on their individual players in this game, as Rotherham United have been good at managing these threats in previous games. Set pieces should be interesting in this game, as Rotherham United's strong attacking may be countered by Derby County's strong defence. Rotherham United will need to be defensively alert, as Derby County will continue their tactical usage of attacking through balls. Rotherham United will need to be creative when attacking, as Derby County have shown great instinct at defending counter attacks. Rotherham United will hope that Derby County attack wide so they can prevent danger with their superior defence on the wings.

Current form

Rotherham United are in poor form having lost most of their last 5 games, and will be hoping to turn around their recent form in this fixture. In their last game, they lost by 1 goal against West Bromwich …. Meanwhile, Derby County are in good form having won most of their last 5 games. In their last game, they won by 2 goals against Leeds United.


Rotherham United Derby County
Forwards Kyle Vassell, Dexter Blackstock, David Ball, Jamie Proctor, Joshua Balogun, Michael Smith, Tyrone Lewthwaite. David Nugent, Luke Thomas, Martyn Waghorn, Florian Jozefzoon, Jack Marriott, Mason Bennett, Jayden Mitchell-Lawson.
Midfielders Shaun MacDonald, Matty Crooks, Jerry Yates, Joe Newell, Anthony Forde, Jon Taylor, Darren Potter, Ryan Williams, Lewis Murr, Ben Wiles, Jake Southern-Cooper. Bradley Johnson, Marcus Olsson, Ikechi Anya, Kyle McAllister, Tom Huddlestone, Max Bird, Tom Lawrence, Joe Ledley, George Evans, Craig Bryson, Duane Holmes, Mason Mount, Andy King, Jacob Butterfield, Harry Wilson, Tyree Wilson, Jason Knight.
Defenders Sean Raggett, Billy Jones, Clark Robertson, Zak Vyner, Joe Mattock, Richard Wood, Will Vaulks, Kelvin Wilson, Semi Ajayi, Michael Ihiekwe, Akeem Hinds, Richie Towell, Matthew Palmer. Richard Keogh, Craig Forsyth, Joseph Bateman, Curtis Davies, Andre Wisdom, Jayden Bogle, Scott Malone, Fikayo Tomori, Calum MacDonald, Ashley Cole, Lee Buchanan.
Goalkeepers Lewis Price, Marek Rodák. Scott Carson, Kelle Roos, Henrich Ravas.
Staff Paul Warne. Frank Lampard.