Freiburg vs Augsburg Preview – 1. Bundesliga 2017/18

Ofelia Crooks is one of Fluentsport's Premiera Division experts covering most of the upcoming fixtures in the year.

Freiburg face Augsburg in this 1. Bundesliga 2017/18 clash.

When is the match, and kick off time?

The match is on Saturday 12th May 2018, and kicks off at 2:30pm UK time.


It would be wise for Freiburg to play intricately and avoid taking too many shooting chances at range, as Augsburg have an excellent record of defending those chances. Freiburg will need to be creative when attacking, as Augsburg have shown great instinct at defending counter attacks. Augsburg should be able to continue their recent form, which has seen them give away very few chances in errors. Augsburg's defence have been tactically astute recently, and are on a good run of avoiding defensive errors. Augsburg may be able to get some extra possession in this game with their ability to dispossess opponents.

Freiburg Vs Augsburg Prediction

Freiburg are the better team on paper, and will be looking to dominate the game. This should result in a win for Freiburg. Don’t rule out Augsburg though, as they will be keen to upset the home crowd. A bet of £10 would return £20.42 for a home win, £35.75 for a draw, and £43.50 for an away win.

This is set to be an eventful match in which we are expecting Freiburg to create many more chances than Augsburg. Augsburg will probably play defensively, looking for opportunities to counter attack. Regardless, Freiburg will probably win by a margin of two or more goals. Our prediction for this match is: Freiburg 2-0 Augsburg.


Freiburg Augsburg
Forwards Nils Petersen, Florian Niederlechner, Yoric Ravet, Marco Terrazzino, Lucas Höler, Tim Kleindienst, Florian Kath, Karim Guédé, Mohamed Dräger. Michael Gregoritsch, Alfred Finnbogason, Caiuby, Jonathan Schmid, Marcel Heller, Sergio Córdova, Marco Richter, Shawn Parker.
Midfielders / Wingers Janik Haberer, Nicolas Höfler, Bartosz Kapustka, Mike Frantz, Amir Abrashi, Vincent Sierro, Patrick Kammerbauer, Caleb Stanko, Julian Schuster, Jonas Meffert. Ja-Cheol Koo, Rani Khedira, Daniel Baier, Gojko Kacar, Jan Morávek.
Defenders Caglar Söyüncü, Pascal Stenzel, Christian Günter, Marc-Oliver Kempf, Robin Koch, Philipp Lienhart, Manuel Gulde, Lukas Kübler, Gaëtan Bussmann, Aleksandar Ignjovski, Georg Niedermeier. Philipp Max, Martin Hinteregger, Jeffrey Gouweleeuw, Kevin Danso, Daniel Opare, Raphael Framberger, Christoph Janker, Kilian Jakob.
Goalkeepers Alexander Schwolow, Rafal Gikiewicz, Patric Klandt. Marwin Hitz, Andreas Luthe, Fabian Giefer, Ioannis Gelios.